facebook pixel
greek flagGR
uk flagEN

Websites for people with disabilities with the use of WCAG 2.0 standard

Websites for people with disabilities with the use of  WCAG 2.0 standard

DIGIQAL has extensive experience in building websites for people with disabilities. With such a website,the business has a comparative advantage when it comes to selling services and products. Our goal is to help you increas the traffic of your company in order to inform new visitors. In the world of technology we all have the same capabilities!

Therefore, with the specifications we use for the construction of websites for the disabled, we fully cover all the requirements of the NSRF Programs 2014-2020.

The websites we develop are certified at AAA level (Level Triple-A Conformance to Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0).

WCAG (Web Content Accessibility) Guidelines

Instructions for accessing WCAG 2.0 cover a wide range of topics and recommendations to make the web content more accessible. With the help of these guidelines, the content can be accessed by a wider range of people with disabilities such as:

  • Blindness and decreased vision
  • Deafness and reduced hearing
  • Learning difficulties
  • Limited mobility
  • Difficulty in speaking
  • Photosensitivity
  • a combination of the aforementioned

In addition, adhering to these guidelines will make the web content easier to use for all users.

There are 3 levels of WCA: A, AA and AAA. Our proposal goes beyond all levels, and we have incorporated techniques that cover all levels of accessibility

Specifically, WCAG 2.0 offers:

  • Text Alternatives: an alternative text or any non-textual content are provided, so that it can be changed to the forms helpful to users such as large prints, Braille system, speech, symbols or simpler language.
  • Keyboard Accessibility: all functions can be done with the use of the the keyboard.
  • Time based Media: time-based media alternatives are provided.
  • Adaptability: content can be presented in different ways without loss of information or structure.
  • A Distinguishable website: it facilitates users to see and hear content, including the separation between foreground and background.
  • Enough time to read and use the content.
  • Prevention of Seizures: content is not designed in a way that has been shown to cause seizures.
  • Navigable navigation: it helps users to navigate find content, and determine their current location.
  • Readability: it makes a text content easy to read and understand.
  • Predictability: it makes websites appear and work in predictable ways.
  • Input Assistance: it helps users avoid and correct errors.
  • Compatibility: it maximizes compatibility with current and future user agents, including support technologies.

WCAG 2.0 I instructions

Comprehensible content by:

  • providing alternative texts for any content that is not available in text format, so that it can be rendered in other forms that users need, such as in capital letters, Braille, speech, symbols, or in simpler language,
  • providing alternatives for time-dependent multimedia,
  • creating content that can be presented in different ways (for example with a simpler layout), without losing information or structure,
  • facilitating audiovisual perception of the content, including distinguishing background information.

WCAG 2.0 II instructions

Functional content means:

  • making  possible to use all the functions via a keyboard,
  • providing users with sufficient time to read and use the content,
  • avoiding designing content in a way that is known to cause seizures due to photosensitivity,
  • providing mechanisms to help users locate, navigate, and navigate content.

WCAG 2.0 III instructions

Understandable content means that:

  • The content in text form must be readable and understandable.
  • Websites must be created with predictable layout and functionality.
  • The website helps users to avoid and correct any errors.

WCAG 2.0 IV instructions

Error-free content

Enhancement of compatibility with current and future user agents, including support technologies.

Compliance Requirements I

Compliance Level:

  • There are three levels of compliance (A – AA – AAA).
  • Although compliance can only be achieved at specified levels, content authors are encouraged to report (at their own discretion) any progress toward meeting success criteria across all levels beyond the level of compliance that has been achieved.
  • AAA-level compliance should  not be required as a general policy for entire pages, as some content may not meet all AAA-level success criteria.

Compliance Requirements II

  • Complete pages: Compliance applies to full websites and cannot be achieved if part of the website is excluded.

Compliance Requirements III

  • Complete process: When a website belongs to a group of websites that present a process (i.e. a series of steps that must be completed in order to finish an activity) all the websites of the process must comply with the exact or a higher level.
  • Example: An online store has a number of pages used to select and purchase products. In order for any page to be compliant, it must be compliant with each of the pages involved in the process from start to finish (checkout).

Compliance Requirements IV

Technology should  only be used  in ways that support accessibility:

Any information or functionality provided in a way that does not facilitate accessibility, should also be available in a form that has accessibility support.

NSRF programs and construction of websites for the people with disabilities

DIGIQAL help your business to participate in the subsidy programs through the new NSRF 2014-2020, so that the specific term of integration is fully observed and you can achieve a high score.

Contact us to build your own website according to the standards  for people with disabilities that we developed above.

The sooner, the better for your business.

Διαβαστε ακομη

Website Design


Eshop design in Thessaloniki